SHARE logoSHARE Update and Action Alert -- April, 2001

Posted for SHARE Foundation by Partners Across Borders, St. Cloud, MN

ACTION ALERT from the SHARE Foundation,
Washington, DC Advocacy Office
Date: April 17, 2001


On April 24, Rep. Robert Menendez (D-NJ) and Rep Tom Davis (R-VA) plan to introduce the RECOVERIES Act of 2001 (The Relief, Community Vitalization and Emergency Readiness in India and El Salvador Act). The bill seeks authorization for additional U.S. funding for earthquake relief and reconstruction.

The United Nations Development Programme estimates the earthquake damage in El Salvador at some $3 Billion. The recent donors conference in Madrid fell far short of meeting pledges in that amount. The government of El Salvador and community leaders in El Salvador are concerned that there just are not enough funds to rebuild the country. Many thousands will not receive permanent housing before the rainy season commences in May. Therefore, the SHARE Foundation and others concerned about El Salvador support this legislation, and encourage individuals to contact their members of Congress asking for their support for the legislation.

Menendez and Davis already have 27 co-sponsors for the bill (see below). Obtaining even greater support will help insure that the bill will pass and be well funded.

If you don’t see your congressperson’s name on the list, SHARE asks you to make a call to their office and urge them to sign on. Members of Congress are on recess the week of April 16 – 22 so it is a perfect time to call them at their home office.

Talking points regarding the legislation:

TIMING: Secure original co-sponsorship from Members of the House of Representatives by April 23. After that date, additional co-sponsorships are welcome.

Co-sponsors as of 4/12/01: Republicans, 3; Democrats, 24; Independent, 0 Total: 27

1. Robert Menendez, D-13-NJ
2. Tom Davis, R-11-VA
3. Tom Lantos, D-12-CA
4. Jim McDermott, D-7-WA
5. Clay Shaw, R-22-FL
6. Ed Pastor, D-2-AZ
7. Xavier Becerra, D-30-CA
8. Hilda Solis, D-31-CA
9. Michael Honda, D-15-CA
10. Grace Napolitano, D-34-CA
11. Mark Foley, R-16-FL
12. Robert Wexler, D-19-FL
13. Robert Underwood, D-Delegate-Guam
14. Luis Gutierrez, D-4-IL
15. William Delahunt, D-10-MA
16. Donald Payne, D-10-NJ
17. Gary Ackerman, D-5-NY
18. Nydia Velazquez, D-12-NY
19. Jose Serrano, D-16-NY
20. Ruben Hinojosa, D-15-TX
21. Silvestre Reyes, D-16-TX
22. Charles Gonzalez, D-20-TX
23. Solomon Ortiz, D-27-TX
24. Ciro Rodriguez, D-28-TX
25. Lucille Roybal-Allard, D-33-CA
26. Joe Baca, D-42-CA
27. Jim Moran, D-8-VA

Mailing address for all Members of Congress:

The Honorable ____________________________
United States House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515

Mail should be addressed:  Dear Representative ___________ _________

U.S. Capitol Switchboard for all Members of Congress: Tel. (202) 224-3121

For updates and status of all legislation pertaining to Congress see the Library of Congress website --
(do not use "www")

An additional Fact Sheet and Dear Colleague letter may be obtained by writing the Washington office of the SHARE Foundation – (202) 319-5540
posted for SHARE by Dennis Beach, OSB
Partners Across Borders, Saint Cloud, MN
SHARE Sister-city with Tenancingo, El Salvador